Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 1st, 2013 21:00

2nd hard drive not recognizing RAM

So I recently bought a new hard drive for my Dell Dimension 4700 because its old default one was over capacity. Reformatted it with Windows XP 2nd Service Pack as I had bought it refurbished. Now I am a producer, and my main use for this computer (with which the internet connection as completely fired from a virus, though everything else worked fine) was to use Pro Tools--and may I add, the cheapest form of it, SE, or Session--which required 1GB of RAM. I bought a 1GB stick to add to my two sticks of 256MB each when i first got the program. Well, now, the drive is out of space and I intend on using this new one for all my future projects now for however long it'll last me. My problem is that when I insert the install Pro Tools CD, Install Shield loads it then tells me Pro Tools needs 1GB of RAM.

O.o

I have my sheet off and I can see in the computer that the RAM sticks are all in there, and even the BIOS setup menu recognizes all the sticks and which port they're in. I've tried every possible combination of turning the computer off, taking out  the stick, turning it back on, loading the CD, have it give me the alert, turn it off, put the stick back in, etc., etc., but my drive still won't read the RAM.

My question now is: WHY?

Is it because that RAM is dedicated to the first hard drive? If so, how do I redirect it to the other one or set this second one as a primary if it's reading it as a secondary? Do I need to buy a new fresh stick to designate to the new drive?

please, HELP

6 Professor

• 

8.8K Posts

October 1st, 2013 23:00

Is it because that RAM is dedicated to the first hard drive? If so, how do I redirect it to the other one or set this second one as a primary if it's reading it as a secondary? Do I need to buy a new fresh stick to designate to the new drive?