Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 21st, 2009 06:00

Computer won't power on...totally dead

Hi Everyone,

Just FYI, I'm new to this.  I have never posted anywhere.  I guess you would say I'm a blog virgin!, well...I was.  Ok, here's my problem and I know there are a lot of smart people out there who hopefully can help.

I have a Dell Dimension E5100 desktop.  On Monday, I tried to turn it on and there was a  blinking amber light on.  I pushed the power button on the front a couple of times and nothing happened.  Then the blinking amber light went away and now I have nothing.  No fan, no beeping, no lights...nothing. 

I called Dell Tech Support and was on the phone forever.  They had me disconnect the power cord and everything else plugged into the back and then hold in the power button and then just plug back in the power cord.  Nothing happened. 

They said they did not know what else to do but that they would have a technician call me within 24-48 hours.  That was Monday evening. 

I've been without my computer this whole time and am ready to pull my hair out.  I'm using a laptop to try to research while I patiently wait for Dell to call back.

So in the meantime, I opened the case and cleaned out a ton of dust which is probably not good...I don't know much about computers as you can tell.  Anyway, there is this green light on what I think is the motherboard???  That's all I have...that little green light on the inside. 

If anyone has any ideas please let me know.  I would greatly appreciate it.

******UPDATE*******

Just wanted to thank everyone for their great ideas and very helpful advise.  It turned out to be the power supply.  Thanks so much!

4 Posts

January 21st, 2009 07:00