Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

G

September 26th, 2008 18:00

Cpu won't boot/diagnosis issues?

After about a year and a half of owning my Dell XPS 410 it seems to have lost some of it's initial glow. Last night I went to wake it from sleep status and the mouse/keyboard would not do the trick. After booting, it was as though the monitor was not detecting input, however, the cpu was on with the LED lit both the shell AND the motherboard... After hooking it up to another monitor, it seemed that the cpu was causing the problems. So, I've been reading about possible issues in response to this problem.  It seems like a video card issue because the motherboard is working fine, however I'm new with cpu hardware and not exactly sure what the correct diagnosis is. In addition, if I boot the cpu up, it does not play the windows start theme from the speakers (which would typically happen on a normal boot) but it does make beeping noises if I try to boot it up in safe mode. If all else fails, I could take it into a tech shop, but I'd like to have a general knowledge of what could be wrong. Any suggestions/similar problems??

-not really sure of ALL the tech in the machine, although I am running a 1.8ghz processor, 2 gigs of RAM, and my video (I believe) is an Nvidia 7300 series.

14.4K Posts

September 26th, 2008 18:00

From a quick look it could be a componet, powersupply or motherboard issue.

If you are comfortable opening the system there are some steps we could provide to try and isolate it down further.

As a help do this

Press the power on Do you see the bid Dell Screen?

What is the color of the light in the middle of the powerbutton. Also does it flash or remain steady.

Are any of the Diagnostic lights on?

Do you hear the fans spinning up and the disks spinning up

September 26th, 2008 19:00

Alright thanks alot! Appreiciate the help! :) I'll let you know how everything goes.