Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

J

May 11th, 2014 12:00

DELL DIMENSION 9200

I WAS GIVEN THIS  COMPUTER BY A FRIEND AND IT SUPPOSEDLY WS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER.  THE SCREEN BEGAN LOCKING UP ALMOST IMMEDIATELY,  BUT I HAVE JUST WORKED WITH THAT.  DON'T KNOW IF IT MY OPERATING SYSTEM  WINDOWS XP HOME EDITION OR PERHAPS MY INTERNET.  I HAVE A SET OF DISCS BUT I REALLY DON'T KNOW MUCH.  MY WINDOWS WILL NOT BOOT UP AND I HAVE TRIED ALL OF MY KNOWN SUGGESTIONS AND IT STILL DOES NOT WORK. 

WHERE WOULD OR COULD I FIND A DOCUMENT TELLING ME HOW TO UNINSTALL AND REINSTALL THIS SYSTEM, AND HOW I WOULD KNOW WHAT DISCS THAT I NEED.  I AM NEW AT THIS AND HAVE LOST ALL OF MY SMART FRIENDS FOR CONNECTIONS TO HELP.  

COULD SOMEONE GIVE ME POINTERS ON WHAT I NEED TO DO.

I WAS MOVING THE COMPUTER , TURNED IT OFF AND IT HAS NOT REBOOTED SINCE,  KEEPS TELLING ME TO UNINSTALL EVERYTHING,  I HAVE UNPLUGGED EVERTHING UT MY MOUSE AND KEYBOARD 

PLEASE  HELP

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

May 11th, 2014 13:00

jeanjean32

Is the power button LED, solid green, blinking green, solid amber, blinking amber, or off?

Are there any 'Beeps'?

Check the reading of Diagnostic Lights on the front panel?

The Dimension 9200 owners manual with the Troubleshooter and Diagnostic Guide, is here:

ftp://ftp.dell.com/Manuals/all-products/esuprt_desktop/esuprt_dimension_desktops/dimension-9200_service%20manual_en-us.pdf       

Regards to a clean manual reinstall of XP, you will need the Dell OEM XP reinstallation discs.  

The procedures for this can be found here:

http://www.dell.com/support/troubleshooting/us/en/04/KCS/KcsArticles/ArticleView?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&docid=52182

As of April 8th 2014 Microsoft has ended all support and updates for XP, it would be advisable to upgrade the operating system to Windows 7