Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

T

September 20th, 2005 22:00

Dimension 2400 usb driver

Well, I'm trying to fix a computer for a friend of mine and have installed all the drivers except the driver for USB Controller, where do I get this driver??

August 17th, 2006 12:00

I am seeing the same problem on a client's Dimension 2400. Specifically: 1. Windows XP installed from scratch. 2. All Dell website drivers installed. 3. USB and all other devices work fine. 4. All updates done. 5. In the Device Manager, there is a question-mark category with an unknown USB device listed. If I delete it and reboot, Windows finds it again, but does not know any driver for it.

1 Message

September 24th, 2006 02:00

I'm working on my friends PC and I too have the same problem with the USB Controller in Device Manager after installing a retail version of Windows XP (Home or Pro), just as several people do, AND, as a Certified Computer Technician, I installed the Intel Chipset driver FIRST!

Furthermore, when you try to reinstall the Intel E7520 chipset driver, file # R79695, that was linked to for the Dell Dimension 2400, it's first installation screen shows that it is NOT for this model computer.

NOTE: Dell did NOT provide an operating system restore CD, so when the hard drive went bad, we couldn't reinstall Windows XP from the hard drive partition. Since my friend PAID for the computer with an operating system, this is just bad business, and the Dell Dimension 2400 she bought is junk. Enough said!

My friend will never buy a Dell again, due to these multiple problems.