Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 29th, 2007 23:00

Dimension 8400: Problem with monitor/video card

Im new to this so help me out a bit. My monitor started acting up about a week ago. It'd make this noice, like a really high pitched noice (kind of like a dog whistle) and then the monitor would shut off for about 15 seconds. Afterwards "out of frequency range" would pop up, and it gave some kind of coordinates (i.e. H:?? V:??). so I guess this is the video card, I took it out (the thing you plug  the monitor into) and dusted it off, and let the computer cool down, and put it back in and then it would work for a few mintues then it would shut back off. but this time it'd keep going in and out. I dont know what kind of card it is; it has a monitor plug-in, an s-video plug-in, and an HD DVI plug-in. Also when the monitor shuts off i can no longer use my nouse or keyboard. Do i need to reset the driver or is my video card bad?

Dimension: 8400
3.2ghz
512mb RAM

Thanx

322 Posts

March 30th, 2007 01:00

SINsazsun,

Try this... right click on the desktop. Click on Properties. Then click on Settings. On the bottom right you'll see "advanced". Click on that. Then click on "monitor" and set the "screen refresh rate" to 85MHz if you have a CRT or 60 MHz if you have an LCD. If you have a CRT, you may need lower than 85MHz depending on what you're using. You can try 80 or 75 if using 85 doesn't correct your problem. The H and V are probably referring to Horizontal and Vertical size, which may need to be adjusted after you change frequency.

Ken

7 Posts

April 1st, 2007 04:00