Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 25th, 2013 21:00

Help on power situation

My Optiplex 960 was running fine and I was installing a printer when there was a loud pop sound and the computer shut down. It will not do anything with the front power button. I can use the button on the back of the power supply and it will flash the. 1 light then The 3 4 light and the button power button will turn blue however it will not boot. It have removed the memory cards and reinstalled them one at a time and have also remove the graphics card. All to know avail. Do you think the mother board is shot or the power supply. I'm not a techie so dumb it down for me if you can.

4 Operator

• 

3.3K Posts

April 25th, 2013 22:00

Hi dtrott,

To isolate the issue, remove the memory modules from the computer and then try to power on the computer.

Check if you get to hear any beep?

If 3 and 4 diagnostics LED’s are lit which indicates memory failure.

http://dell.to/11IF2oz

From the above link click  Manual and Documentation and Service manual to access memory reseat/remove section.

Before Opening the chassis, I recommend you press and hold the power button for few seconds and release to drain the flea power.

Note: Remove the memory if you are comfortable in doing so.

** NOTE: Please ensure that the power cable of the computer is disconnected before opening the chassis. Refer to the Service Manual for assistance on removing or replacing the internal components of the computer.

Awaiting your response!

11 Posts

April 25th, 2013 22:00

It's a SFF 235 watt supply. H235P-00 supply

11 Posts

April 26th, 2013 07:00

I don't mean to get ahead of you or myself, but  since the unit will not turn on from using the power button on the front of the unit, I am speculating it must be the power supply,