Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 31st, 2010 17:00

Inspiron 530

I have an " Inspiron Desktop 530 Mini-tower: Intel Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 (8MB L2 cache,2.4GHz,1066FSB" with a bad DVD drive and a bad hard drive.

I do have the Dell operating system disk that came with it.

If it was just one device that was bad it wouldn't seem quite so bad to me but it's both.

I've never done this sort of thing before, and would appreciate any help anyone has to offer.

10 Elder

• 

46K Posts

May 31st, 2010 18:00

ChuckBaggett

You need to a replacement SATA  hard drive and optical drive, a good place to buy these from is www.newegg.com

The procedures for replacing the drives in an Inspiron 530 MT are HERE

After installing the hard drive, you will need to manually install windows, load the drivers and applications.

The procedures for a manual reinstall of windows are HERE

Bev.

May 31st, 2010 19:00

Thanks for the help.

Looking at the dvd drives at Newegg, I see an Asus DVD burner that gets a high rating, at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204.  I wonder if it will work without needing drivers installed.  Can't install the drivers, if they are needed,  without an operating system,  and don't have a functioning Windows XP operating system, just the Ubuntu Live CD.

Selecting a hard drive produces questions, if one is trying to get not just any hard drive but is trying to get a good one at a low price.  Western Digital alone offers a choce of drives at the same or nearly the same price.

Here's one possibility: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136497, a "Western Digital AV-GP WD5000AVDS 500GB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive "  Does that seem like a reasonable choice?