Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 16th, 2013 14:00

Inspiron 620 hangs on boot

Hello all.  I am a self-employed computer tech and have run into a brick wall with a Dell system. Hoping someone here can help.

I have been working on an Inspiron 620 for 2 days with little success. The owner told me that he thinks it got zapped by lightning, but the hardware appears to be OK. The system powers on ok and I can go into setup and move around. When I first worked on the system, it would not boot into Windows 7 - kept wanting to go into startup repair and then never would complete that process. After troubleshooting, we decided to re-install the OS. So I took out the hard drive and put it into another working PC to make a backup. I also formatted the disk and ran a diag on it, which indicated no errors on the hard drive.

The owner did not have his recovery CD, so I called and Dell sent out a set of CDs. So I tried booting to the windows 7 OS cd and it gets about 2-3 minutes into the installation and just hangs up. I tried this several times. I have tried removing the wireless card and removing the DIMMs one at a time. I have also tried booting to a diagnostic/recovery CD that I use. It does the same thing with that - boots part of the way and then hangs up. I also tried booting to the Dell diagnostic CD. It gets as far as the menu, but as soon as I type 1 to select Dell 32 bit diags, it gives and very quick error which I can't read and goes back to the menu.

I have also tried re-setting BIOS to defaults and clearing the CMOS by removing the battery. So far, nothing I have done has enabled this PC to get to a point where it will boot to anything. It has me wishing for a floppy disk.