Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 30th, 2013 14:00

Looking Dell mouse driver.

I used to own a Dell laptop. I no longer own it (switched to a different brand, my apologies), but I kept the corded infrared mouse that came with it since it was a rather excellent mouse. Now, I've been using this mouse on the new system for a few months and ran into some bugs. The Windows 7 generic mouse drivers wasn't fully compatible (short of it: Windows kept creating additional fake HIDs for this mouse), causing the occasional but still annoying mouse cursor freezes. I did some digging and found out that the only solution for the problem was to find myself a proper Dell driver for this mouse.

This is where I ran into some problems.

I am sure everyone here is aware of how any kind of support works around here. I mean no disrespect, but without a service tag you're pretty much . I can't even properly browse the driver archives without one, let alone ask for help on Dell's chat service. I no longer have any information left regarding the old laptop, no booklets, nothing at all.

The mouse itself does have a small black sticker and a few extra serial numbers printed on the bottom. It is by the way clearly a Dell mouse, not some 3rd party mouse that was merely sold along with it. It has the word 'Dell' printed into the plastic twice, on the bottom and front.

The full serial numbers on the sticker are:

PID:
HS745181GRE
D P/N:XN966

The D at the beginning of the second line has me slightly puzzled. The sticker is rather small, so it is possible it belonged on the first line. In that case it should read:

PID:
HS745181GRED
P/N:XN966

Below the sticker is some more writing imprinted onto the plastic. I can't make out everything because some of it is absolutely tiny and the rest of it is Asian lettering. Here is what I can read:

M/N: M-UAR DEL7
N231