Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

November 2nd, 2009 18:00

Memory not being recognized in bios

I have a new Studio XPS 8000, supplied with Vista and upgraded to Windows 7. Both Vista and 7 (and CPU-Z) tell me correctly I have 8gb of DDR3 installed, though W7 says only 4gb is 'usable'. More importantly, the BIOS says I only have 4gb installed. Dell tech insist this is a software issue (for which I must pay for support) but at the BIOS level surely that can't be. I'm not technically minded but my first instinct was that the dual channel memory is only being seen as single channel. Am I right - and what can I do to correct this or whatever is wrong? Thanks.

13 Posts

November 4th, 2009 03:00

I have exactly the same issue but technical support have told me that its a BIOS problem.

The BIOS needs a memory re-mapping feature which doesn't currently exist!

My machine arrived with 4GB, the BIOS could see 2GB, windows could see 4GB but only 2GB was usable with the rest apparently being reserved by BIOS for hardware.

18 Posts

November 4th, 2009 16:00