Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 26th, 2008 20:00

New 630I owner with a couple of questions ?

Hi Group,

I have to admit, the past three days has been a real adventure since getting my new 630i.  I've been working with desktops for over 25 years, mostly PC's, a few old Apples in the early '80's and I've never had a machine that seems so quirky.  I update firmware, BIOS, various drivers, and something seems to work better, and then I find other things have changed for the worse or disappeared.   Is this a common feeling with other users of the 630I ?

Anyway, want to be optimistic and plan on getting this beauty tweaked and working flawlessly at some point.

Just a couple of questions.

1) Anyone know why the BIOS shows 4096 installed, but 4095 available ?  Just curious about that ?  Hadn't seen it before in other machines.

3) In the Nvidia Control Panel (with latest updates and firmware), I seem to have lost the video preview that was present with the "adjust image settings with preview" ?  Anyone have any thoughts as to why that preview disappeared ?  SOLVED this problem, but I don't know what I did to do it :smileysurprised:

4) My  system came with a DVD+/-RW single drive.  For some reason, when I try to play a DVD movie, Windows Media Player will NOT play the movie.  The PowerDVD software that came on the machine plays it, but not quality that I want.  Any thoughts as to why WMV won't work on this setup ?  (I set the region to United States).

5) I followed the Nvidia Control Panel recommendation on Updates and downloaded nforce 8.43 driver.  BIG MISTAKE.  Would never install.  Constantly prompted for removal of old drivers and reboots.  What gives with that ?

Thanks for any tips / advice.

Tony

630i (black)

Windows XP Pro

4GB RAM 800 MHz

Core 2 Extreme QX6850 3GH

Dual 8800 GT 512 card, but just removed one to free up more memory ?

1TB 7200 SATA

500GB 7200 SATA

NEC 2190uxi display