Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 5th, 2017 16:00

Numeric Keypas doesn't Work - Solutions Don't Work

Today the numeric keypad stopped working.  The num lock is on.  Only the direction keys (home, pgup, etc.) work.  I switched keyboards but the same problem.  I tried the solutions offered (the mouse keys are off), but nothing seems to fix it.

I'm a CPA and tax returns are coming due.  Any suggestions?

121 Posts

October 5th, 2017 17:00

Have you tried a different port. Or try a Bluetooth board

10 Elder

• 

44.4K Posts

October 5th, 2017 18:00

Always include exact PC model and version of Windows in your posts.

4 Posts

October 6th, 2017 10:00

Tried your idea but ng

I'm thinking it has to do with software, but how to determine which program?

4 Posts

October 6th, 2017 11:00

You are right

Mine is Windows 10 & a Dell XPS 8300  ACPI x64 based PC

Community Manager

• 

2.4K Posts

October 6th, 2017 12:00

Just to rule out anything odd, have you tried booting to a command prompt outside of Windows to see if the numpad will work there? And on the keyboard, did you try it in a different port? 

Best regards,

Brad

10 Elder

• 

44.4K Posts

October 6th, 2017 12:00

Keep in mind that Dell doesn't support Win 10 on the XPS 8300...

Is this a problem with only a specific app or with any/all apps? Have you installed any new software recently? Scanned for malware lately?

Is this the wireless Logitech keyboard supplied by Dell or do you have a different one?  You can try reinstalling the driver.  Manually set a System Restore point first, to be safe. Then open Device Manager and find the keyboard entry. Right-click it and select Uninstall, and reboot.

If that doesn't help, you could try installing the driver that Dell offers for the Logitech wireless keyboard, the page but doesn't say it works with Win 10.

www.dell.com/.../driversdetails