Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 3rd, 2008 15:00

RAM xps 730 64 bit Vista upgrade

I currently run my xps 730 with 4gb Ram and 2x 9800gx2 SLi.

The addition of the second card has enevitably changed the amount of system memory available to my OS.

I have been looking to upgrade to 64bit vista in the hope that I can use all of my RAM. But before I do, some advice please.

Will any of the standard XPS components i.e the bluetooth card reader etc install correctly?

Will I see all of my RAM?

Has anyone else done this and had any problems with games or apps? I am a video editor and have checked compatibility with that software. Would just like to hear other users who have upgraded to the 64 bit system.

Cheers 

Community Manager

• 

54.3K Posts

October 3rd, 2008 17:00

MayHalen,

* Go here to see the drivers. Just change the operating system from Windows Vista 32-bit to Windows Vista 64-bit.

* I do not see a CAB-200 Bluetooth Card Reader Vista 64-bit driver in the above list but you could try these -
Vista 64-bit CAB-200 Bluetooth Card Reader icon manager 
Vista 64-bit CAB-200 Bluetooth Card Reader application 

* You will see all of the ram in windows system properties.

NOTE -
* Dell will not support any operating system issues that may arise once you load the 64bit operating system
* Dell will not support any software issues that may arise once you load the 64bit operating system
* Dell will not guarantee that there will be complete 64bit Vista drivers for your PC model
* Dell will only support the hardware through the usage of our hardware diagnostics once you load the 64bit operating system

1 Rookie

• 

139 Posts

Hi MayHalen -

I don't see how you would have any trouble with the XPS componets in switching to 64bit. I cannot speak specifically to the bluetooth card reader, as I never use it and haven't bothered to install the software to run it.