Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 23rd, 2009 17:00

Ram compatibility

Hey! I keep on having some problems identyfing the compatible ram for my computer. I have a Optiplex GX280 (small desktop computer) 2.66 Mhz. At the moment I have 512 MB on two slots. I want to take those out and buy 3 GB, just that I don't know which type. In online Dell Documentation i've found that it works with DD2 at 400 Mhz and 533 Mhz... but on some other forums I've found only 400 Mhz. 

I'm confused. Can you please help? (Sorry, I'm a computer noob... and a girl :D)

Thanks so much

14.4K Posts

Hey! I keep on having some problems identyfing the compatible ram for my computer. I have a Optiplex GX280 (small desktop computer) 2.66 Mhz. At the moment I have 512 MB on two slots. I want to take those out and buy 3 GB, just that I don't know which type. In online Dell Documentation i've found that it works with DD2 at 400 Mhz and 533 Mhz... but on some other forums I've found only 400 Mhz. 

I'm confused. Can you please help? (Sorry, I'm a computer noob... and a girl :D)

Thanks so much

I would recommend you go to Crucial and get your memory form them. You can see by the info on the page your system uses DDR2 ram in either 667 or 800mhz speed. The great thing about the Crucial ram is that it is guaranteed to be 100% compatible with your system.

Now for the best performance the ram should be installed in pairs so for your desire of 3 gigs you would install 2 1 gig sticks and 2 512 mb sticks.

I would also suggest that if you are going to upgrade the ram to 3 gigs buy all the same ram from the same place so buy 2 1 gig sticks and 2 512mb sticks and remove the dell ram. This will ensure that there is no compatibility issues between the old and new ram

3 Posts