Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 10th, 2009 10:00

Second Opinion on

Aloha,

I'm a writer/author who needs several apps running at once. My current Dimension 9200 setup is OK (2CPU, 1.8GHz, 32-bit, 1GB) but I'd like to explore how to increase speed and performance. In fact, I'd like to FLY!

Anyone out there have any suggestions?

I asked Dell and they recommend that I buy a new harddrive with 1.5KB, although I still have puh-lenty of space left on my current HD. I bought the HD:

1.5TB SATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive 32MB IntelliPower 3.5IN Caviar Green 
... and now am wondering if I should go ahead with the install or would this be for nada (nothing) and something else would be better, e.g., new processor?
Please advise. (Speak slowly and clearly, I am not an advanced tech genius).
My best,
KimCaroline

940 Posts

You can upgrade you CPU to a Q6600 2.4 quad core, Upgrade your memory to 3GB or 4GB.

The max CPU's that you can use are E6700 and Q6700.

The max memory is 4GB running the 32bit version of windows but you will ony use a max of 3.5GB. The max memory for 64bit windows is 8GB and it will use it all. I have found for me the sweet spot is 6GB.

If you want to upgrade to the 64bit version you might still be able to get Dell to send it to you for free.

As for the hard drive you can always install the new drive as a secondary drive and use it to backup all of your files. You can just copy them to the new drive or get a software like Ghost or Acronis True Image and it will make a complete copy of your main drive so that when the drive failes you can easily get all of you data back.

10 Posts

Thank you so much!

Best wishes,

Kim

7 Posts

October 22nd, 2009 09:00