Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 23rd, 2016 11:00

Upgrading Graphics Card

Firstly, if I should be taking this up with a potential seller (i.e. Best Buy) rather than HP themselves, please let me know. I'm still a bit new to purchasing and upgrading computers. 

I am interested in purchasing an Inspiron Small Desktop, but would like to upgrade the graphics card. The one I had in mind is a MSI - AMD Radeon R9 380 4GB graphics card. Would this be possible, both physical size of desktop computer/graphics card and power wise? Would this void the computer warranty if I was to do so?

Thank you in advance.  

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

May 23rd, 2016 14:00

The exact model name and number of the Inspiron is required for an answer. Know that a small desktop must have a low profile card and also one that does not require a high powered power supply--not over 300w. A $300 video card like the one you list would never be able to be installed on a small budget desktop. Check the system requirements of any video card before buying. Buy a gaming model computer instead of a budget model. 

BTW--Inspirons are dell computers not HP. 

172 Posts

May 23rd, 2016 16:00

Chances are, you'll need a low profile bracket (kind of unusual for dual slot GPU's to include), though with skill, and a pack of brackets from Newegg for $10, and a whole lot of luck, it may 'physically' fit. 

Still, you'll have to contend with the PSU, which on that desktop, even if mid tower & no bracket alteration required, you'll need to upgrade the PSU, it may or may not have either the one or two required 6 pin power connectors, plus at 305W, isn't going to work anyway.