Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

December 12th, 2013 00:00

Upgrading a Business XPS 8700 to Windows 8.1

Hi there, I'm a developer for a small company and we purchased a new XPS 8700 at the beginning of the month which was delivered 2 days ago. To my surprise it came with only Windows 8 installed, not 8.1.

When I went to the Windows Store there was option to upgrade so I ran Windows Update to ensure that I had installed all the updates that would allow my to do so. After everything was installed, I checked the store again but still nothing.

Checking the Microsoft site they seem to indicate that this could be due to the fact the machine was installed with a Volume license key which I assume is what Dell does for the machines sold through the Business portal. I tried downloading and 8.1 install disk but that asks me for a license key which I obviously don't have as it's embedded in the BIOS.

Does anyone have any idea how I can upgrade the machine, it would be really *** if it was stuck on Windows 8.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide,

-Erno

4 Posts

December 12th, 2013 12:00

Hi Ravi.

Thanks for the response.

I downloaded the update but when I ran it, it told me it was already installed (so no luck there) and it still nothing in the Windows Store I'm afraid.

btw  before reinstalling KB2871389    Go ahead and search for KB2871389 at control panel>Programs>Programs and features>installed updates. Once found select and check box uninstall.    

Then go back and rerun the file Ravi sent ya.

But personally i also had a problem moving fro Win 8 to 8.1 but it was during first release of 8.1 and because i did not use an official MS account to log into Win 8.  I used a local screen name and didnt sync that PC with MS at all cause i didnt use MS Store at all. 

7 Technologist

• 

7.1K Posts

December 12th, 2013 01:00

Hi chameleon_erno ,