Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

December 27th, 2008 01:00

Upgrading my XPS 420.

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Dell community but I have been tinkering with hardware and software for years.

The problem I'm having is upgrading my XPS 420, my current spec is:

Intel® X38 Express Chipset (Dell BTX)

Dell 375W PSU

Windows Vista 32bit SP1

4GB PC2-5300 DDR2 Ram (cheap and nasty, plus Vista 32bit SP1 does show and use the full 4GB of Ram)

2 x 500GB Samsung HDD's (with firmware fix)

Nvidia 8800 GT 512MB

2 x DVD-R/RW Drives.

19 in 1 Media card reader with Bluetooth + XPS front mini viewer.

All around you would think its a good package, I did. But now the time has come to upgrade I really don't want to buy a new PC as times are hard, which means deals are hard to come by. Plus I like my XPS 420.

And as there are many myths about Dell's in general, I felt it would be best to ask you guys about upgrading my XPS 420, I would like to change the OS, PSU, Ram and Video card.

The OS I want to upgrade to is Vista 64bit (I understand I can get the disc for free from Dell, please let me know how to go about this?).

The PSU I want is a Corsair HX620W Black or TX650W Black.

The Ram I want is 2 x Corsair TWIN2X 6400C4DHX DDR2, 4096MB (4 x 2GB = 8GB Total).

The video card I want is a Geforce 9800 GTX+ 1GB with all the bells and whistles.

Could someone please tell me if the above stuff is compatible with my chip set, and the parts I want to buy too?.

Many thanks all.

14.4K Posts

December 27th, 2008 06:00

Hello and welcome to the Dell forums

lets break down your wishes.

The power suppy is not propritary and any standard ATX supply with a 24 or 20+4 main connector will work.