Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 27th, 2014 20:00

XPS-600 Repairable?

Hi, All-

Just joined the forums to ask a hardware question. I have an XPS-600 that just recently stopped working. Although it was complaining about a low CMOS battery, which is no doubt true, I noticed two bad capacitors on the mother board when I had it open this evening. Although I haven't been deep enough into the hardware to know any specifics about these electrolytics yet, they are labeled C6H3 and C7H1. Both have obviously vented out of their tops. I see slight bulging and electrolyte on the aluminum. The two caps are at the bottom end of the RAM bank and closest to it.

I will give full particulars later, as needed- service tag and such. Given that I am pretty good with computer hardware, having built, serviced, and modified a lot of towers over the past 18 years or so, and given that I am an experienced electronics engineer/tech who is pretty good at soldering, I want to ask the group a couple of questions. (Needless to say, this box is long out of warranty)

For those of you who have dealt with this well known problem with the flaky electrolytics which plagued several manufacturers a while back, I would like to hear your opinion as to whether simply replacing any obviously bad caps is likely or not to cause the mobo to basically spring back to life? Or is it more often the case that the exploding caps have taken out other power supply components on the mobo? Or, worst case- is it possible that such component failures can kill the power supply? I would assume the supply is reasonably well designed to protect itself against output shorts?

My hunch is that replacing these two caps can bring it back to life. What say, Guys?

Thanks, Clutter

78 Posts

July 27th, 2014 22:00