Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 4th, 2012 17:00

dell 540s that will not power on

hello all,

i bought a 540s a couple of years ago.  all has been fine until today when i attempted to power it on.....nothing.  i work in IT, but the backend stuff, i havent touched desktops in years but am comfortable around them.  i opened the case.  removed all the cards that were not needed just to make sure it wasnt a failing card.  still nothing.  when i plug the power cord in, the green light on the PCU comes on and i hear a slight tick.  i've removed the front plastic panel and tried just pressing the bare button with no results.  i'm not sure how to proceed from here.  could someone give me a suggestion or two?

many thanks,

r

6 Professor

• 

8.8K Posts

January 4th, 2012 17:00

Try resetting the CMOS (by removing the coin-shaped battery one the mainboard.)

If that doesn't work, my guess is power supply or mainboard, in that order of probability. This power supply comes highly recommended: www.newegg.com/.../Product.aspx

Edit: I've also seen this happen with an internal short, such as a bent USB connector pin shorting out.

6 Posts

January 4th, 2012 18:00

thanks for replying.  i took the cmos battery out..no go.  should there be any sort of amber light on my mobo?  there isnt a light on the board....just the PSU.  should i spend the money on a PSU first? it looks like i can return the product if necessary.

3 Posts

January 4th, 2012 18:00