Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 14th, 2010 01:00

eSata Port not detected in Bios in my Studio XPS 435MT running Windows 7 Pro

Hi,

I recently got a new eSata enclosure with new 2TB Western Digital hard drive and tried to connect it to my Dell Studio XPS 435MT but the system could not recognize it, it only works when connected via USB.  I got the latest bios (vers 1.1.4) from Dell and when I went into the bios the eSata port status was "not detected".

The eStata port is sodered onto the motherboard.  I've never used the eSata port before today, so I just assumed it would work, but when I called Dell Tech support, they told me to change the motherboard... but before I do so I just want to make sure its not something else that might be causing the issue.  I thought perhaps it might be a driver but I couldn't find anyting on the Dell Drivers & Downloads section, the only thing I've found was the Matrix Storage Manager which relates to using the eSata in a Raid configuration which isn't my case.  I've read most of the threads on here and coudn't find a solution to my problem. 

Has anyone gotten their eSata port to work on their Studio XPS 435MT running Win 7?

Frank

4 Operator

• 

34.2K Posts

December 14th, 2010 05:00

Hi Frank,

So is tech support saying your motherboard is defective?

4 Posts

December 14th, 2010 10:00

Hi Osprey,

They suggested it might be the cause but wasn't exactly sure based on what I've explained to them, it might be that ONLY the eStata port on the motherboard is defective but I''ve never used it so I couldn't say, but everything else on the motherboard seems to be working fine.  I'm wondering if it might be the intel drivers that need updating, but when I visited intel's site I found only eStata drivers pertaining to Raid.  There was one eStata driver for Windows Vista 64-bit I'm running Windows 7 64-bit but I tried anyhow but it said I didn't have the right hardware for that driver.