Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

May 26th, 2015 14:00

nVidia Quadro 6000 Video BIOS Update

This is my first time posting, so sorry if this is in the wrong section, I didn't see one for a rack workstation.

I've given a description on my problems below, for anyone who'll bother helping.

A few years back, I got a refurbished Precision R5500 with dual Quadro 6000s. I noticed the driver was outdated, and updated it. Unfortunately, when I did so, the driver would crash several times a day, with no clear indication of why or when. It was several months before we figured out what driver was previously on it (266.87), and reinstalled that. It's still running mostly stable.

However, this driver downgrade caused an issue for me. I'm a gamer, and apparently, version 266.87 does not run Frostbite-based games correctly. For example, Battlefield 3 and Need for Speed The Run both have an invisible floor.

I'd pretty much given up on looking for solutions a couple years ago, but yesterday, I decided to give it another shot. I quickly found a thread on the old Dell TechCenter, which you can view here, where users had found a solution. They had updated the VBIOS to what appears to be version 70.0.6F.0.2. My current version is 70.0.57.0.2, so it'd make sense that if mine was updated, I'd be able to update the drivers without them crashing.

Problem is, there are no links to the update on the web; at least, not that version. The closest thing I've found is on HP's website, which you can view here, but I get the feeling that's only for HP computers.

So, story over. I have two questions. First, does anyone know if the VBIOS update on HP's site would work on this rig, being a Dell; and second, in the case that the HP drivers wouldn't work, would anyone know where or how to get the Dell update?

June 2nd, 2015 21:00

No response after a week. To be expected; this is a rare issue, by the looks of it.