Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

AS

May 26th, 2010 18:00

Dell Dimension 4550 BIOS upgrade (im scared to do this)

I bought one of these http://www.compuvest.com/Desc.jsp?iid=1183659 and i need to upgrade my BIOS from A02 to A08 is that correct?  I've never done this before and im scared to do it because i dont want to screw up my computer, because its the only one i have!  i need to do this because i would like HT and just to have an updated BIOS.  Can some please help me with this so i dont destroy my BIOS :emotion-2:

6.4K Posts

May 26th, 2010 19:00

Your concern is understandable, but 99% of BIOS upgrades work out just fine.

In your case you have three options.  1.  Bootable DOS diskette, 2.  Bare BIOS file, 3. A file that executes within Windows.

The first file in the list, BR67246, is a program that creates a bootable DOS diskette having the BIOS flash file incorporated.  To use it you first download the file to your computer, place a blank 3.5" diskette into the diskette drive, and double click the file to execute it.  The program will write the DOS system files to the diskette, make it bootable, and write the BIOS flash file to the diskette.  In order to flash the BIOS you make the diskette drive number 1 in the boot order and place the diskette in the drive.  Restart the computer, the computer will boot from the diskette, flash the BIOS, and tell you to remove the diskette and restart the computer when it is finished.