Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 23rd, 2012 15:00

Dell Optiplex 745 (Suitable Graphics Card Help)

Hello,

I need help finding a graphics card for a Dell Optiplex 745 Desktop PC (DT) size Case. I have a power supply box in the case of 280Watts as standard. I been scanning previous questions on this website hoping to find a answer. I did come a cross a recommended  graphics card such as the one below.

I am no expert so I will post as much information as possible to help determine the best solution for me.

AMD Radeon HD 6570 1024MB DDR3 PCIe Low Profile Recommended by SpeedStep, I Noticed in the spec it recommends is a 400watt PSU. So would this be safe to use in the system with a 280watt PSU.? 

System Spec

Intel Pentium D 945 INTEL DUAL CORE 3.4Ghz CPU with 4Mb Cache, 2Gb DDR2 RAM

http://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/optix/en/opti_745techspecs.pdf

Post made by SpeedStep below in the link.

http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/desktop/f/3514/p/19438866/20061816.aspx#20061816

October 24th, 2012 22:00

I found comments working fine with a 280w PSU on the link above I'll post few peoples comments. One person used a SF case. Reason why I mentioned about upgrading bios as I came across more information about PCI Express 1.0a at factory bios and updating allows increases the chance for graphic cards at 2.2 working. Makes them backward compatible or something, ill find the link about that later. Someone tested with bios version 2.6.4, I upgraded from factory version to 2.6.6. I colored the interesting information in blue and red for what you asked above.

By SpeedySpod

Amazon Verified Purchase