Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 26th, 2009 00:00

Need help upgrading Inspiron 530

Please bare with me I'm new at this. I need help on upgrading my Inspiron 530 here are the specs.

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7400 2.80ghz

Dell Motherboard Model 0RY007

Intel G33/G31 Express Chipset Family

6.00 GB of Ram

Windows Vista Home Premium x64 Service Pack 1

I would like to upgrade the video card so I could play some of the newer games, But alot of this stuff is confusing to me.

One thing I do know is I'm going to have to get a new power supply, What kind will work with this PC and have enough power?

I don't understand anything about PCI. From what I can find out though this program http://www.gtopala.com/, i have 4 pci slots. 2 are just PCI, and the other two are PCI Express. One is 32x and the other is 1x. Most of the video cards I've looked at are PCI Express 2.0 or PCI Express 16x.

I also want to make sure the video card with fit in the case. It's not slim case, But a normal big one.

That's all I know if anyone else has upgraded this type of PC and has recommendations on what parts to buy please post them.

Thanks for the help in advance and if any of this made no sense I apologize.

4 Operator

• 

3.7K Posts

January 26th, 2009 02:00

I don't understand anything about PCI. From what I can find out though this program http://www.gtopala.com/, i have 4 pci slots. 2 are just PCI, and the other two are PCI Express. One is 32x and the other is 1x. Most of the video cards I've looked at are PCI Express 2.0 or PCI Express 16x.

Hi KazumaKor, First off you have an PCIe x 16 graphics card slot on your mobo, and your system can take the PCIe x 2.0 cards. With that in mind, you can put in the 9500GT HERE without upgrading your PSU.  You can also get the 9600GT HERE for your system. If you want to upgrade your PSU, any ATX type PSU will fit into that system see HERE.

1.7K Posts

January 26th, 2009 06:00