Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 22nd, 2008 15:00

Optiplex GX620 now has the infamous blinking amber light

Hello, first time poster. I have some experience with computers, no formal training, just have been messing with them for a while. Anyway, my wife shut down our 2 year old Optiplex GX620 properly last night, I came to power it up this morning and saw the power button steadily blinking a yellow/amber color. Just from researching which computer to purchase when we bought this thing, I remembered seeing something about this possibly being a bad power supply unit. I jumped the green power on pin with a black pin and my fans, dvdrw drive started right up. It seems to me that the psu is still good. Could it still be bad even after it powered everything up? I also checked out all of the USB hubs and they all look perfect. I disconnected the harddrive and still no change. The only other thing I noticed was the constant amber light on the motherboard being lit up. Could this be a problem with the motherboard? If I knew for a fact that it was the motherboard, I would purchase a new one, but I don't want to buy it and it not be the problem. Is there any way to check the motherboard for serviceablility? This machine really hasn't had much use. I was in Iraq for 15 months and my wife used it maybe once a week during that span. I've used it since I've been back every day for about a month. There are no upgrades to the system, it's just a stock system. It's plugged into an expensive surge protector as well. I just cannot imagine how we already be having defective parts already. Any advice? Thank you for your help. 

14.4K Posts

November 22nd, 2008 16:00

Blinking power light

If the power light is blinking amber— A device might be malfunctioning or might be incorrectly installed.