Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 17th, 2013 19:00

New to SANs need help/advice

Hello Everyone

I am new to using SANs. We are a small company and our IT budget is almost nonexisant. I purchased a PS500XV from an Ebay seller with the intent of integrating it into one of our VMware ESXi 5.1 servers. I received in it a box with power cables, an RS-232 cable and rails.......NO software NO manual, NOTHING not to mention when I emailed the seller (who looks like the sell a TON of Dell SANs) was pretty short and said they didn't provide ANY customer service...all I asked to was a little direction.......

So I'm here now looking for advice. There appears to be precious little on the Dell support page for the product. It appears that when these units are shipped they include management / configuration software and I assume some sort of manual.....I have NOTHING.

PLEASE can someone help me and at least point me in the right direction. I have about worn out a keyboard searching the Internet looking for info...........to no avail.

Thanks in advance or someone's anyone's help!!!!

Phil

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 18th, 2013 11:00

Hello,

You don't require any special software to manage the array, other than a broswer.  

Unfortunately, you don't have a support contract, or warranty, so you can't get a support account.  Which allows you access to the documents, firmware and related software.   The license to use the firmware is bundled with the warranty or support contract, not in the HW itself.

All array models work the same as far as setup and operation.  Different controllers, drives, number of NICs, cache will be different but the actual software won't be.