Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

C

February 19th, 2014 04:00

Questions about groups and pools

I'm new to the EQL stuff so I'm still trying to understand how the groups and pools work. Before I go into production with the arrays I want to be sure I understand how things work so I can provision them correctly for my needs and not back myself into a corner.

Below is a summary and some questions of my current understanding of things. Would someone be able to tell me if I'm understanding things correctly?

1) An array must be a member of a group.

2) An array can only be a member of 1 group.

3) An array (lets assume standalone) must be reset and lose all it's data before it can join another group.

4) A group with two members can have one of it's members removed. Upon removal I can choose whether to migrate all luns to the other member or not and the member which is removed ends up being reset, losing all it's data.

a) Am I forced to migrate luns or can I choose?

b) If I use storage vmotion to move things around myself or manually move other types of data myself, I can unpresent the luns, remove the member array, and that removed member will destroy all the data and reset itself, ready to join another group.

5) I was told by the person at Dell helping with this purchase that it wasn't advisable to mix a disk array and a hybrid array in the same pool because it might not distribute data optimally between arrays. Assuming this is correct....

a) Is there any issue if I put these two arrays in the same group but in different pools? Will that keep them "isolated"?

b) Assuming I can do what I mentioned in a) above, can I move luns between pools?

c) If I can move luns between pools, can it be done transparently (ie. zero downtime, no resetting of arrays, vmware won't even know it happened, etc). If I can move and it is transparent, would that work for luns presented to windows boxes or hyper-v as well?