Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 26th, 2014 05:00

Setting multiple snapshots offline via powershell

We have an issue where the snapshots created by DPM on multiple volumes are not being deleted, I need to delete over 150 snapshots from a volume but need to set them offline first, obviously I can do this via the gui but it would take ages!!

I have found the requred PowerShell commands to set a single snapshot offline but the Set-EqlSnapshot command doesnt accept wildcards and im not a powershell expert, I have looked around the net but cant seem to find an example, I presume I would need to use the 'Get-EqlSnapshot -volumename' command to pipe the returned name of all of the snapshots for that particular volume into the Set-EqlSnapshot command to set them all offline, or something similar?

If anyone could help I would be very grateful, or if there is another way of doing it?

Cheers

March 26th, 2014 08:00

Thanks for the info, A colleague and myself actually worked out the powershell commands to set all the snapshots to offline and then we could mass delete, details below:

Get-EqlSnapshot –VolumeName yourvolumename | Set-EqlSnapshot -OnlineStatus offline

Then:

Remove-EqlSnapshot -VolumeName yourvolumename

(this will remove ALL snapshots for given volume!!!)

Use at your own risk!

Regards.

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

March 26th, 2014 06:00

Sounds like you are using HIT/ME with EQL FW v7.0?  There's a fix in HTI/ME v4.7 that will allow DPM to delete the online snapshot.   The delete snapshot behaviour changed in 7.0.  It won't get rid of the existing ones.

AFAIK there's no global snapshot delete option at the CLI/PowerShell.   The script would have to get the list of available snapshots and walk through the list one at a time.

March 26th, 2014 06:00

Hey Don,