Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 20th, 2014 11:00

Beware of A07 BIOS on 6540 !!!

Do not update to A07 on 6540! It is a not fully tested bug containing BIOS! 
When I made a successful update from A05, my Windows 8.1 stopped booting anymore. After a short panic I got calm, and luckily having the old A05, I updated back to A05.

It is a shame that DELL released such a BIOS, without fully testing... :( 
I just really hope that it will be remedted soon before a lot of 6540 user update it and cannot boot anymore. 

8 Posts

January 20th, 2014 12:00

I could accept your reply. However I am also an IT worker. So before sending this message, I studied it a little bit.

Here are the facts.
The update processed as usual and the updater software confirmed that it was flawless. First I checked the BOIS (F2) and I've found no changes to the previous state. Great! The problem was not with BIOS booting, but with the Windows 8.1 booting. However I had another HDD with different W 8.1 so I changed/tested another HDD. but I got the same result. 
After that I got back to A05 BIOS and W 8.1 booted from both HDD without any problem. It proves definitely the problem of A07.

I can admit that this problem is maybe only in correlation with W 8.1 and does not occur when you use for example W 7, or other op sys. I can admit that it comes up only when any special configuration exist on the Windows.
However if the BIOS updater confirms a successful update and after that the client cannot boot his/her Windows, while coming back to an earlier BIOS and working without any problem... - even if it comes up only a few situation - I define it a bug! It is not the question how many users are involved. A normal end user follows the instruction and probably cannot manage to get back to an earlier BIOS on a not booting laptop.
So it is better to wait and not to risk.   

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

January 20th, 2014 12:00