Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 2nd, 2010 17:00

Inspiron 6000 very slow

I'm a novice when it comes to computers so I am a little reluctant to contact Dell with my question preferring to avoid a sales pitch.

My computer loads very slow, part of the issue is McAfee doing it's thing on start up, it also runs very slow when I surf the web.  I have cable internet so it should be fairly speedy, but sometimes I have to wait for minutes for the page to load.  I run anti-spyware which seems to find an occasional file but nothing significant.  That said, my question is: Do I have some sort of virus, worm et al, or maybe since my laptop is about 5 years old maybe I need to install new hardware, like memory or something?  Any opinion/suggestion would be greatly appreciated.

58 Posts

February 4th, 2010 01:00

This is exactly the same problem as I posted several days ago - my Mum has the same machine.  I too am a novice so hopefully between us someone can help.  My Mum is more than happy with this computer and she too has McAfee Total Protection on it.

It runs slow and I have her phoning me asking if she has done something wrong.  She hardly uses her computer and only has a few photos on it from e-mails, etc.

Lets hope someone can help.

130 Posts

February 6th, 2010 14:00

Quite often the only way to bring a pc up to a good speed again is a pc restore or system re-installation (it has been recommended in fact as something that should be done as frequently as every  1 1/2 years). 

Here are the links for these 2 scenarios: 

PC restore: if you have the PC restore option, use this. If you have this option and use the re-installation instead, you will not be able to use it in the future.

http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/document?docid=181316

system re-installation

http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/dsn/en/document?docid=179256