Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

2 Posts

December 7th, 2008 09:00

Touchpad stopped working

I have an Inspiron 9400, Intel Core 2 T720, 2GB ram, Vista x64 bit, bluetooth, ATI card (out of warranty, never had any problems before)

A little about myself: I am a teacher and I also build desktop computers in my spare time (I know my way around fairly well)

My problem started about 2 weeks ago, I opened my laptop up and the touchpad didn't work at all.

My steps:

1. Restarted computer (didn't fix it)

2. roll back driver (didn't fix it)

3. installed new driver from dell (didn't fix it)

4. installed new driver from synaptics (didn't fix it)

5. uninstalled device and restarted and let windows install the new driver (didn't fix it)

6. checked the connection inside and it was fine

7. ordered a new touchpad (didn't fix it)

8. reinstalled operating system both vista and xp (32 bit)

9. repeated steps 1-7 (about 100 times, lol didn’t fix it)

10. the motherboard connection looks clean, no sign of corrosion or being damaged in any way

Some things I have noticed:

1.      In the device manager the touchpad does not show, but if I click “view” then “show hidden devices” it is there with the yellow exclamation point

2.      When running the diagnostics from the bios it says “touchpad not detected”

3.      USB mouse works fine

4.      I have searched about everywhere, but there just isn’t a whole lot of information on this topic, and after the first few steps people just say “use a USB mouse, it’s better anyway” but that is just not practical for how I use my laptop.

315 Posts

December 7th, 2008 12:00

:^/ From your description I'd say that it was a hardware problem instead of software.  If not the track pad itself, then perhaps the connector ribbon needs to be replaced, or perhaps there is trouble with the chips on the motherboard that communicate with the touch pad.