Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 17th, 2008 13:00

Perl Scripting

Hello all. I am not sure if this is under the correct topic or not so please feel free to move if necessary. I was wondering if someone could point me in the direction of being able to use Perl Scripts to manage or Symmetrix arrays. We are currently using ECC 5.2 SP 5 and SE 6.4.3 in our environment for management. We are having some problems with ECC and are looking at a using SE more for day to day management using Perl scripts. We had heard that using Perl is possible. I am extremely new to Perl, but would like to learn if possible especially for the daily management of our arrays. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

2 Intern

• 

20.4K Posts

April 17th, 2008 16:00

sure you can use perl to create scripts that can be used with solutions enabler. I would say start using SE for tasks that you used to do in ECC and get comfortable with the syntax. As you get more comfortable with SE you can start scripting things in perl to help you with your daily tasks like backing up VCM database, creating symconfigure files ..etc. I am myself in the process of learning perl so i can convert so of my shell scripts to perl for compatibility.

2 Intern

• 

2.8K Posts

April 18th, 2008 00:00

BTW a lot of new features (symrecover, symstar just to name some of them) are big (and complex) perl scripts ... However note that they are compiled, so you can't look at the source (at least I think you can't).

6 Posts

April 18th, 2008 08:00

Dynamox,