Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 26th, 2019 12:00

Inspiron 7777 AIO, upgrade RAM and SSD

Hi :) Hope someone can shed a light on this for me, as I'm a previous mac-user and have limited experience with Windows-machines.

I've got a Dell Inspiron AIO 7777 with 16 gigs of RAM and 256 GB m.2 SSD. I've gotten help to purchase to new RAM chips that's 16 GB each to upgrade to 32 GB. As far as I'm aware, this should be quite easy to upgrade myself. 

But recently I've experienced trouble installing plugins for Adobe on the C-drive, and I would like to upgrade the SSD as well. I'm looking at this, quite expensive, but looks like what I need: Samsung SSD 970 PRO 1TB NVMe M.2. 

But if I'm to replace the SSD, I would need to reinstall Windows, right? What kind of backup should I take of my current system to ensure that I can reboot and have Windows and my software on the new harddrive? I've never done anything like this before, so I'm hoping someone can advise me on which methods to use, or if this is something I should have someone else do for me. 

Thank you,

Cathrine :)

573 Posts

January 28th, 2019 08:00

Hi @Camomilla ,

As you mentioned that you're a previous mac-user and never done anything like this kind of hardware upgrade before, let me talks about it in details and hopefully it helps.

Hardware Purchase - RAM

Rule number 1: Always check on the official Service Manual and Setup Guide before any hardware purchase for upgrade.

Page #18 on the setup guide tells you that your PC with 2 DDR4 SODIMM(stand for short RAM band usually for laptop, not the long one for desktop) slots, each support up to 2666 MHz and 16GB, i.e. total system memory support up to 32GB (yes, you're right). However, not all RAM from varies manufacturers fit for Dell machine even thought all standard mentioned above matched. Cricual maybe the one most recommended in the forum as they guaranteed to work on Dell computer.