Start a Conversation

Unsolved

R

6 Posts

June 17th, 2018 23:00

Inspiron One 2330, freezes

My all in one started freeze about a week ago. Its pretty much costant. Every time you open a program or click on a website. It will flicker into light occasionally and work. But not for long  its about 6 years old i reckon but in really good nick still. Did dell diagnostics test and said hard drive operatimg outside normal parameters. Local pc shop sold me new hard drive and i fitted it. They put a clean version of windows on it.   But, problem still remains. Gutted.  I spent most of weekend trying to sort out but im no expert at all. All other dell diagnostics and windows tests come back ok. 

After spending 90 quid on hard drive im now mulling over writing off and having to buy new one. Its in such good nick though im loathed to get rid. And Skint!

Anyone any ideas?

June 18th, 2018 01:00

Just done test after pressing F12 when booting.  Says all tests passed at end but half wat through said the Video Thermistor exceeded the thermal limit.  Says 126C.  Could that be owt?  This is doing my head in. 

10 Elder

• 

43.7K Posts

June 18th, 2018 16:00

The diagnostics suggest the video board might be overheating. Unfortunately, these AIO's typically don't have a video card that can be replaced since it's likely attached directly to the motherboard, rather than being plugged into a slot on the motherboard like in a desktop PC.

It's also possible the LCD backlight is failing so it only lights up occasionally. When it doesn't light up, shine a flashlight on the screen at an angle and see if you can read anything. If you can, that would support a backlight failure.

This system has one video VGA-OUT (port #15, here). So try connecting an external VGA monitor to the port. That might be a viable work-around.