Start a Conversation

Unsolved

M

6 Posts

May 25th, 2019 09:00

No Bootable Device Found, How do I move Windows 10 from my dead HDD to my new one?

About a month ago my HDD in my Inspiron 15 5558 died. I finally got a new one but when I finished installing it I got an error message saying No Bootable Device Found. I assume this is because my new HDD does not have Windows 10 installed on it, but I am pretty new to fixing computer and don't know if this is the case or how to fix it if it is. If anyone knows how to fix my laptop help would be greatly appreciated. Also the USB Ports on my laptop are broken so any repair methods using USB are out of the question.

Old HDD: WD Blue 1TB (WD10JPVX)

New HDD: WD Black 1TB (WD10JPLX)

4 Operator

• 

6.2K Posts

May 25th, 2019 10:00

Welcome to the Dell Community  @mlbeal0 

New HDD's normally do not come with W10 preinstalled.

You have 2 options to install an OS.

Use the Dell OS Recovery Tool to create a USB recovery drive that you can use to reinstall the version of Windows or Linux that came with your PC:

https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/Drivers/OSISO/recoverytool

For a clean Windows 10 install:

You can make a W10 USB flash drive installer with the Microsoft Media Creation Tool, using a 16GB flash drive using another Windows PC, if your PC is not working.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

If you are asked to enter a product key during the installation process, select the 'I don't have a product key' option, and W10 will install and automatically activate once you are connected to the internet.

Here are the steps to create the W10 USB flash drive installer...

Select Download tool now, and select Run. If you agree to the license terms, select Accept.

On the What do you want to do? page, select Create installation media for another PC, and then select Next.

Select the language, edition, and architecture (64-bit or 32-bit) for Windows 10.

Select which media you want to use: