Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 26th, 2013 00:00

How to configure Kerberos (isilon 6.5)

Hi evryone,

I try to connect my isilons system to an active directory provider but i get the message :

ERROR: Unable to get Kerberos ticket for isilon-ovt@MyDomain.com

I have no experience in kerberos,

Thanks

February 26th, 2013 00:00

I had this exact issue and it actually turned out to be a bad password used for the user specified to join cluster to domain.  Can you confirm quickly?

February 26th, 2013 01:00

I want to also welcome you to the forums and above all would like to thank you for being an EMC customer.

Just to continue, we had actually started reviewing packet captures, krb5 config files, verifying all the necessary ports used in domain joins were open and everything but looking at the u/n and p/w.  It is one of those you assume the client was typing in correctly.  Searches in Microsoft KB articles had in a round-about way kind of suggested credentials.  A quick test by logging into another workstation using the same u/n and p/w quickly confirmed a bad password.  I had actually tweeted about it maybe a month ago when it happened to me since I didn't want others to overlook the same:

1) KB searches in EMC/Isilon came up short (iirc there was just one hit talking about high resource consumption on the cluster, but this was a new install)

2) It only takes a minute to quickly verify

Also, if time skew doesn't account for it, whether you join in the GUI or the CLI, it will make reference to a log specific to the "domain-join-results" in the following location:

/ifs/.ifsvar/tmp

I'm sure you've already reviewed them, but if you can, pasting that information may be useful.  Of course clean up any information specific to your environment.