Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 23rd, 2015 21:00

Migration to Isilon

Dear Friends,

I have just joined and EMC Community and it feels great.

I would require help and I am hoping to get a direction to begin with a task I am trying to accomplish.

I am fairly new to Isilon though I have experience in storage administration for VNX, VMAX, Recover Point, Clariion DMX.

I need to migrate the data from overland storage to Isilon. an SMB of 100 TB is created on overland storage. Initially I thought of using Robocopy by creating a jump server and mapping the source (overland SMB) and target (Isilon SMB) to it but due to big SMB size and being a single SMB and keeping in mind the complexity and error check & remediation, I had to leave robocopy as an option.

The approach that is looking good is to mount overland SMB as an NFS export to Isilon and do a copy at Isilon itself using linux based commands.

Please let me know your thoughts if this approach will work and will copy the data with existing permissions and if possible help me with the commands too.

Many Thanks !!

Regards,

Yuvik

Mob: +919910977900

450 Posts

Yuvik,

Emcopy in general is far faster than Robocopy, especially with high file counts, and especially in incrementals.  The other benefit to use that over robocopy is that it is supported by EMC Support, so if you have issues, there is a logical place to turn within EMC.  Emcopy version 4.17 is the most recent release, and the readme file that is bundled with it should cover many of the detailed switches you'll need.  If you find that you need some extra assistance, of course you can turn to the community, or ask your EMC account team.  So with that, welcome to the community, and enjoy the new Isilon cluster.

~Chris Klosterman

Senior Solution Architect

EMC Isilon Offer & Enablement Team

chris.klosterman@emc.com

twitter: @croaking

2 Intern

• 

20.4K Posts