Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 17th, 2013 12:00

Dell Latitude 6430u - Fan Speed

Hi,

I´m using Dell Latitude 6430u for few days. I have upgraded from Win7 to Win8. Everything works fine, but the CPU fan seems to be very noisy already at low ultrabook load. I have upgraded BIOS to the latest version (http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/04/Product/latitude-6430u-ultrabook ), but this problem problem is still present.

Have you some advice, how to reduce fan speed?

Thank you!

2 Posts

September 28th, 2013 03:00

I am very displeased to say that changing the fan did not change much for me.

AGAIN, if a programmer from DELL passes by this forum, the problem is the following:

FAN SPEED GESTION.

You have to allow it to run at low speeds AT ALL TIMES, so it won't kick in full speed 5 minutes after begin completely iddle ! 

I am no expert in the domain, but I believe this is not the biggest fix Dell had to do until now, and I'm amazed it hasn't been done yet on A06.

Getting a little around the topic here, but we are talking here about a 1000$+ computer. It should be able to be on par with other models of other brands (like the one with a fruit logo, not to be explicit) on noise and temp level. 

If by the usage of caps lock and strong vocabulary, i succeed to attract someone's from DELL attention, then this angry rant would've been worth it. Because, looking around the web, I know I'm not the only one not happy with the noise performance of this laptop.

Which is a shame because it is a beautiful machine.

Regards,

3 Posts

October 21st, 2013 03:00

I tried all three items (new Bios, new fan and setting to quite mode) and nothing changed the behavior of the laptop. The fan is either off or runs at ~3900RPM.

I hope there is another bios update coming that fix the problem.

1 Message

October 21st, 2013 04:00