Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

40 Posts

January 5th, 2009 19:00

Dell Latitude D600 - AC Not Charging Battery

Since I've now recently been ensnared in this problem of Dell computers which suddenly and inexplicably no longer seem to be capable of charging the laptop battery - although the AC adaptor still appears to be fully functional in terms of powering the laptop, I thought I would attempt to post the definitive thread on this issue, in an attempt to identify a solution.

I have a probably 5+ year old Dell Latitude D600 laptop, purchased used, and running Windows XP Professional without any problems for the past 3-4 years. As an electronics engineer, I have no problem in diagnosing and repairing minor eletrical problems, to include laptop computers.

About 3 days ago during a reboot, I got the message saying that "Warning: An unknown AC power adapter has been detected, > preventing optimal system performance. Strike the F3 key (before the F1> or F2 key) if you do not want to see power warning messages again.".  Not knowing what to make of that in terms of the implications, I hit F3. Only a day or so later, I noticed that one of my two laptop batteries had drained to zero and appeared to not be charging correctly. I checked my two laptop batteries using the built-in test button, and both showed OK, although one was nearly fully discharged. So, we know the batteries are OK.

In checking the AC adaptor using a voltmeter, I checked the output, and the output was right up to spec with the output right at 19.5V. I examined the laptop AC connector port and it appeared to be both solidly soldered to the motherboard with the connections all clean. Since I know that the AC adaptor has very few moving parts (few = none), and since one of the batteries I have is relatively new, I'm pretty sure the batteries and laptop are not the problem. So, the battery and the AC adaptor upstream all the way to the laptop all appears solid.