Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 20th, 2015 10:00

Dell XPS 13 (2015) - Repeat Keys, Double Space, etc.

Hello all,

I was just reviewing the forums to try and see if there was a solution to the keyboard problems that plague this otherwise fantastic device.  It seems as though there are a lot of theories but no real solutions, even from Dell (I'm referring of course to this posting: http://www.dell.com/support/article/us/en/19/SLN297563/en

This was driving me nuts as I type 120 WPM and can't be wasting time correcting preventable errors not of my own doing.  Since I work in IT, I started digging.  And I think I may have found a solution after repeated testing.

NOTE: This worked for my specific issue, and assumes you have no need for a touch keyboard (since you have a physical one) or handwriting recognition (since there is no digitizer support anyway).  No promises it'll make any difference with your machine, but I share it here in case it might help someone, or help Dell properly identify the root cause instead of guessing at it.  IF YOU ARE NOT COMPUTER SAVVY I DO NOT RECOMMEND PROCEEDING.

First off, BIOS A04 seems to make the problem worse.  Let's get that out of the way.  My laptop was purchased in Canada, and came with BIOS A03.  At that time I saw the double space issue but it wasn't nearly as bad as when I updated to A04, when it was just out of control.

Another post suggested some things, and when coupled with my own research, I'm now 99% error free! 

Corrective Action:

1.  Rolled BIOS back to A00.  This got the double space issue down to about once every 15th word.   Not bad, but still annoying given how expensive this machine was.