Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

B

May 13th, 2017 19:00

Dell XPS 13 9350 skylake/2016 question about NVMe SSD..

hello, this is my first post on these web forums, I hope I'm posting this in the right place and also am hoping to get some answers/help !

I own the Dell XPS-13 9350, specs are as follows:

Dell XPS-13

color is silver;

16GB Ram/Internal Memory

512GB SSD NVMe THNSN5512GPUK NV

QHD+ Infinity Edge Display (with touch-screen)

Intel Core i7-6560U Processor

Intel Iris 540 Graphics

I've owned this computer since March of this year, and I am still fairly new to it and its usage. I am in the beginning of my journey into the computer/laptop world of understanding, rebuilding, and upgrading, and there are a few things I would like some help with to better understand myself about this device, and I hope someone can help me out with these questions so that I might better understand what I am not only doing, but dealing with!

now I have the 512GB SSD with this XPS 13, I have been trying to determine which SSD I have as I've read online that there are many different models and makes, and some of which work faster when it comes to read/write speeds (I'm not even sure exactly what that refers to yet, like transferring data from USB drives to and from my laptop when something's plugged in? faster load times for apps and games? idk) - but the only thing I can find through system settings and device manager are:

in device manager - under "disk drives", I've found this - THNSN5512GPUK NV. Does this indicate what brand of SSD I have? I know there is a huge debate over Samsung, Toshiba, and one other company who manufacture these SSD's and some work better at read/write speeds than others. I am trying to determine which brand I have, and if its a good one - or if I should upgrade that (something I am willing to do down the road if I find useful)