Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

5 Posts

April 9th, 2004 18:00

I don't know anything about computers. HELP!

Hi, I was hoping that someone would help me to figure out what I do and do not need in a laptop.  I know you're probably laughing, but I really have no clue what I need.  I know what I want though:  I need to be able to use wireless internet, and I'm a student, so I need it for papers and all that stuff (I need excel too) and I'm not going to be doing any games or anything on it, so I don't need graphics stuff, and I do want to watch (not necessarily burn) dvd's without them skipping, but I do want to be able to burn CDs.  I'm not going to be doing anything complicated with it, but I need it to be light for travel.....can someone help me?  I don't know what half the options are, so I don't know if I need them! I'd really appreciate it.... 

April 9th, 2004 19:00

Try the 600m laptop.

It has Centrino technology (a power saving laptop processor and wireless internet capability) and you can pick the least powerful processor if you only want to run basic Word and Excel duties (you can order this software package when you configure your laptop).

Also, you can pick teh 32mb video card option which will save you money and can run many popular games if you change your mind later.

I would also pick the CD-RW/DVD combo drive (or a DVD-RW drive which can burn DVD's as well).

And finally, it is the second lightest laptop in the Dell lineup. I found the 300m to be too small with its 12.1 screen. The 600m has a much more eye-soothing 14.1" screen. Check it out!

5 Posts

April 9th, 2004 20:00