Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 19th, 2017 22:00

New Inspiron 15 7000 Gaming (7567) HDMI Out questions

I have a new Dell Laptop, the "New Inspiron 15 7000 Gaming", specifically the 7567 variant.  Before I start, just to let you know my technical experience, I work in the IT field, and have extensive knowledge of building computers, how drivers work, etc, just to give you an idea of my experience. 

I have a couple of problems with video output on the HDMI channel.  The problems I'm having are when I use the HDMI port with my TV.  My TV is a Vizio M422i-B1, and using up-to-date cabling.  I don't have any problems using the laptop with it's built-in panel, and this laptop works perfectly when used in that way. I though will be using this laptop primarily attached to an HDMI port to my TV, and I'd like to know if changes could be made somewhere on the Laptop in a BIOS or utility I'm missing, or if I may have come up with some feature updates in future BIOS revisions - if possible.

The first problem is there is no video signal sent out on the HDMI port during boot and in the BIOS screens. When Windows starts, video signal is sent and everything appears to be working normally.  This is a problem if I want to access the BIOS, or boot to Safe Mode, or do something in the preboot environment such as booting from a USB drive. I don't see anything in the BIOS or anywhere else that would allow me to enable sending video through the HDMI port in this boot phase.