Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 6th, 2011 07:00

Rebuilding Latitude D810 - Which Drivers should I install

I'm in the process of rebuilding a Latitude D810 which I originally bought in June 2006 - it's my first time rebuilding the laptop so bare with me if I seem confused!.

I've put my Service Tag into the Drivers and Downloads page and 23 files have been found for my laptop.  Should I install all 23 files? 

I'm a bit confused because some of the categories e.g. 'Chipset' have 3 files with the tag 'Optional' - should I just install everything from the oldest to the newest?

I'm also a bit confused as to when I should install the BIOS; the installation guidelines on the Drivers and Downloads page do not list the BIOS - http://support.euro.dell.com/support/topics/topic.aspx/emea/shared/support/downloads/en/driver_install_order?c=uk&cs=ukbsdt1&l=en&s=bsd&~lt=print. 

I'm aware that installing things in the wrong order can cause the laptop to not perform properly, so I was hoping someone could direct me to a link with the correct installation order.

Also, there is no Network Interface Card listed in the Network category of drivers to download - there are 5 options but none are listed as NIC.

Thanks for your help!

14 Posts

February 24th, 2011 10:00

Ok, can I begin by asking... have you been told lately that you're the BEST!!!!! :emotion-1: 

Your explanations and instructions are truely on point and I could not have come this far without you and them!

Now, for where I'm at... I unclicked the 'Effects' box, installed .NET 4 and then installed the X300/600 Driver - I realised when I downloaded it that on the first install I downloaded the wrong one, so this time I got it right!

Unfortunately after the first restart of the laptop I went to change the screen resolution and got a blue screen with the following technical info:

*** STOP: 0X000000EA (0X893A1DA8, 0X8A53B750, 0XB9D40CB4, 0X00000001)

ati2dvag