Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

March 26th, 2011 18:00

XPS 15 fan, on/off/on/off, gahhh!!!

My new XPS 15 L502X fan comes on for a second then turns off for a second, then repeats. it does this process half a dozen times... then stops for 10 secs then repeats.

I get this issue when just doing light stuff like word/internet/etc...

Is this by design or a fault? My temps ussualy lie between 55-60C when this is happening...

Is there a setting i can adjust?

Also is 55-60C too hot for an i7 2720qm thats doing literally nothing?

8 Posts

February 12th, 2012 09:00

I'm a tech novice. I'm ready to do this but before I do can you tell me:

1. Where do I get the drivers, what are they and what do they do exactly?

2. What are GPU tools?

3. If I uninstall every program with Nvidia listed will I be okay? Or do I need some of them to operate? What do they do and why don't I need them?

And lastly

4. Can you tell me why during the first week I didn't have this problem? Could it have been an update or a plug in or something I downloaded recently like Flash or Adobe that's suddenly causing this problem?

Thanks so much for your help!

8 Posts

February 12th, 2012 12:00

I'm a tech novice. I'm ready to do this but before I do can you tell me:

1. Where do I find the drivers, what are they and what do they do exactly?

2. If I uninstall every program with Nvidia listed will I be okay? Or do I need some of them to operate? What do they do and why don't I need them? I guess I'm unclear on your "GPU and Fan related tools." What's a good way to figure out exactly which ones those are.

3. I searched for Optimus and I don't come up with anything. Does that mean I don't have it?

And lastly

4. Can you tell me why during the first week I didn't have this problem? Could it have been an update or a plug in or something I downloaded recently like Flash or Adobe that's suddenly causing this problem?

Thanks so much for your help!

4 Posts