Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 25th, 2012 08:00

dual GPU on Precision M4700: K2000M only on external displays ?

I'm new to dual GPU laptops...

I discover my new M4700 with Quadro K2000M and could not find a way to have applications use this GPU when working "standalone", i.e. without an external display. Am I missing something ? How do people with apps requiring the Quadro GPU (instead of the Intel HD 4000) manage when in "mobile" mode ? Do they carry an external display with them all the time ?

Tx to enlighten me...

1 Message

October 26th, 2012 02:00

Hi,

To solve your problem. Need to disable optimus from BIOS. Then everything works fine.

159 Posts

October 27th, 2012 11:00

OK, disabled OPTIMUS in the BIOS, that solved the problem in the sense that now the Intel IGP is disabled and the K2000M GPU is used for everything, no matter the display used.

However, I am puzzled by the discrepancy between the behaviour of OPTIMUS as described in the nVidia white paper (www.nvidia.com/.../LO_optimus_whitepapers.html) or in the DELL articles and what I observed.

According to the WP, the choice of GPU vs IGP is controlled by the nVidia control panel, globally or by app.

What I observed is that no matter how the nVidia settings are set, apps running on the laptop display ALWAYS use the IGP, while those running on an external display use the GPU; and (when OPTIMUS is enabled in the BIOS) the physical connections reported by the nVidia CP show that the laptop display is linked to the IGP, while the external monitor is connected to one of the GPU ports, and that can't be changed.

Also Optimus makes my Datacolor Spyder3 Pro calibration hw/sw go crazy...

1 Message

December 20th, 2012 03:00