Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

F

1 Message

February 24th, 2008 11:00

freezing touchpad

Have just taken deliverey of inspiron 1720. Touchpad freezes intermittently. no apperent pattern. During use freezes about 5 secs, then ok again. Intend to phone support Mon. But am I doing anything thick?!

4 Posts

February 24th, 2008 17:00

I have the same problem Touchpad freezes no apperent pattern 2-3 sec. (dell Vostro 1700, a week old) Contacted dell support, they say I need new video drivers, but it didn't help.

13 Posts

March 4th, 2008 01:00

I've been battling the same problem on an 1720 I have here for almost 2 months now. The touchpad and buttons will be working fine then stops responding for 2-5 seconds, afterwards returning to normal. Other times a lag will develop between touchpad and figure movement for up to a minute before returning to normal.  The problem seems to be intermittent.

I've eliminated all the usual suspects (viruses/spyware, corrupt drivers, background processes, dirty touchpad) but the problem persists. I contacted Dell last month and first they suggested to reinstall Vista. I went ahead and performed a fresh install. Thinking that maybe some program was causing the problem, I only installed the latest updates and drivers. Unfortunately, the touchpad acted up. I contacted Dell a second time and they had the palmrest replaced but this did not fix the problem. The system passes the diagnostics.

Has anyone else had this problem or know of a possible fix? What makes this hard is that, as Patrick77 mentioned, there seems to be no apparent reason for why this happens. Checking the task manager when the problem occurs shows nothing out of the ordinary. 

Any comments will be appreciated. Thanks,
robert2513

EDIT: Clarified problem.

Message Edited by robert2513 on 03-03-2008 11:02 PM

13 Posts

March 8th, 2008 17:00

Hello again. Just a quick update.