Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 9th, 2012 04:00

n5110 after 3 beeps went completely dead

hi
i have bought a dell inspiron n5110 for two month now. after 20 days one morning
i tried to turn it on and it beeped 3 times and went dead, i took it to support
center ( it has warranty ) they took it and fix it in about one hour and told me
it was a bios failure and if it happens again warranty will not cover it and it will
cost about 150$ after one month today it happend again what should i do.

i am not a hardware expert but i can handle my and my coworkers computers pretty well
but since it has warranty woid labels i cant check anything.

i have already tried
pushing power button for 30 seconds without connecting battery or charger.
pushing power button for 30 times without connecting battery or charger.

Thanks.

June 9th, 2012 06:00

Hi mahdese,

Welcome to the Dell community.

As you had purchased this computer about 2 months ago, it should have an active hardware warranty and you don't have to worry about the repairs.

I would be interested to know if it actually gave 3 beeps before going off again. If it was, it definitely points to the system board failure. If the beep codes were any different, it could be a different concern.

Glad to assist you.

Regards

Amrinder D

Social Outreach Professional

June 15th, 2012 07:00

Hi Mahdese,

Apologies for the delayed response. I do not expect any virus to effect the BIOS in such a manner that it would start beeping. It definitely is a concern with the Motherboard and is covered for replacement under the hardware warranty.

In case, you still have an active warranty, Kindly add me as a friend by clicking on my name above and send me the system service tag.

Regards

Amrinder D

1.1K Posts

June 9th, 2012 06:00

Hi Mahdese,

Welcome to the Community.